The Planning Commission is an advisory body to the City Council. The Planning Commission participates in various studies and planning issues that are applied to guiding the development of the community. The Planning Commission also conducts public hearings to receive public comments on development proposals, subdivisions, zoning ordinance amendments, variances, re-zonings, and conditional use permits. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the City Council based on information provided by staff, various agencies, and public input. For more detailed information, see Chapter 2, Article V, "Boards and Commissions" of the Elk River City Code.  

In addition, the Planning Commission assists in preparing and updating the Comprehensive Plan, which contains the goals, policies, standards, and maps that guide the physical, social, and economic development of the community. The Planning Commission assists in establishing these goals and policies by studying background data, examining development problems and opportunities, and working to create a long-range vision of the community.

Planning Commission meetings are held regularly on the fourth Tuesdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. at Elk River City Hall.

The Planning Commission is a seven-member commission. Officers of the commission shall consist of a chair and vice-chair, as elected by the commission. Planning commissioners serve three year terms.

Agenda and meeting materials

Planning Commission Members

Alexander Feinstein
Phone: 612-384-2825
Email: alexander.feinstein@ElkRiverMN.gov 
Term Expires: 02/28/20
Eric Johnson
Phone: 612-889-7236
Email: eric.johnson@ElkRiverMN.gov
Term Expires: 02/28/19
John Jordan
Phone: 763-561-4299
Term Expires: 02/28/21
Jill Larson-Vito
Phone: 763-406-0405
E-Mail: jill.larson-vito@ElkRiverMN.gov
Term Expires: 02/28/20
Mike Nicholas
Phone: 612-251-4502
E-Mail: mike.nicholas@ElkRiverMN.gov 
Term Expires: 02/28/19
Rob Rydberg
Phone: 763-202-3650  
E-Mail  rob.rydberg@ElkRiverMN.gov
Term Expires: 02/28/21
Brad Thiel
Email: bthiellaw@gmail.com
Email: bthiel@ElkRiverMN.gov 
Term Expires: 02/28/21