Energy City Commission

The Energy City Commission promotes the City of Elk River as a hub of energy technology, energy manufacturing, energy demonstrations, recycling, use of green products, and the adoption of sustainable living practices. For more detailed information, see Chapter 2, Article V, "Boards and Commissions" of the Elk River City Code.

The Energy City Commission consists of up to eleven members appointed by the City Council. Terms are three years beginning on the first day of March; however, members shall hold office until their successors have been appointed. Members shall consist of one representative of the following: City Council/Economic Development Authority, Elk River Municipal Utilities, and Elk River Chamber of Commerce. Members shall also consist of one representative designated by a school located in Elk River, and up to seven representatives from energy-related businesses, which can include consultants, manufacturers, technology, environmental, energy producers, and/or energy providers. Members shall also consist of commercial or residential customers (representatives must receive at least one city service- water, sewer, trash collection, or electric delivery); or non- profit organizations (this can include schools, youth organizations or businesses as determined by the city council). Each Commission member is also involved with at least one subcommittee: Visionary, Energy Design, Sustainable Living, Demonstration.

The Commission meets quarterly on the third Wednesday of February, May, August, and November at 8:00 a.m. at Elk River City Hall.

Agenda and meeting materials

Energy City Commission Members

Aaron Brixius
Residential Customer Representative
Term Expires: 02/28/23
Garrett Christianson
Council Representative
Phone: 763-300-2794
Term Expires: 02/28/20
Trish Curtis
Energy-Related Business Representative
Phone: 612-469-6291
Term Expires: 02/28/21
Henry Griner
Energy-Related Business Rep
Phone: 612-234-1685
Term Expires: 02/28/21
Harley Hanson
Chamber of Commerce Representative
Phone: 612-360-4453
Term Expires: 02/28/21
Becky Herbert
School Representative
Term Expires: 02/28/23
Vern Iverson
Residential Customer Rep
Term Expires: 02/28/23
Alec Plaisted
Energy-Related Business Rep.
Term Expires: 02/28/22
Tom Sagstetter 
Elk River Municipal Utilities Representative
Term Expires: 02/28/22
Timothy Steinbeck
Energy-Related Business Representative
Term Expires: 02/28/22
Vacancy - Residential/Commercial Customer/Energy Business Rep
Term Expires - 02/28/22